Here are some most common definitions used in RedTrack and Affiliate marketing:
A/B Testing - is a way to compare two versions of a single variable, typically by testing a subject's response to variant A against variant B, and determining which of the two variants is more effective.
Affiliate - also called Publisher or Media Buyer - an online marketer who promotes offers for a certain performance reward.
Affiliate Network - an intermediary company between affiliates and advertisers. The affiliate networks generate offers, providing an opportunity to choose the most suitable offer for a certain affiliate and rewarding the partners for advertising services.
Affiliate Program - an arrangement in which the advertiser pays its affiliates commission.
The commission model is usually based on actions performed by users: lead generation, subscription to a service, etc.
Bot - also known as web robot, WWW robot or simply bot, is a software application that runs automated tasks (scripts). In marketing bots often generate the traffic.
Campaign - a set of rules and elements that link together a traffic source and the offers that are being promoted.
Category - offers’ classification: gaming, app downloads, health, insurance, etc.
Click - an offer click.
Conversion - the desired action from a visitor (view, download, subscription, etc.)
Cost - the amount spent on buying the traffic.
CPA - cost per action (acquisition) - a fee for a certain action (form submission, registration, download, etc).
CPC - cost per click - net cost of a click bought within a traffic source. Calculated as Cost divided by Clicks.
CPM - Cost per thousand. Cost per Thousand refers to impressions. Much digital advertising company’s rates are based on a CPM.
CTR - Click Through Rate. This is the percentage of people who clicked your ad from the total impressions. For example, if you had 10,000 impressions and 100 clicks, your CTR is 1%. Your CTR depends on many factors, but most of them you can control.
CR - conversion rate - the percentage of clicks that resulted in a conversion.
Creative - advertisement, add or banner.
Domain - is an identification string that defines a realm of administrative autonomy, authority or control within the Internet. Domain names are formed by the rules and procedures of the Domain Name System (DNS). Any name registered in the DNS is a domain name.
EPC - earning per click - the amount received for a click bought from a traffic source. EPC can be calculated as Revenue divided by Clicks.
Impression - an impression is simply a view of your ad. It could be a banner ad, video ad, or text-ad. One view = one impression. If the same person sees your ad multiple times, they’ll count as multiple impressions. Unique impressions are the number of unique people who saw your ad, regardless of how many times they viewed it.
Landing Page - or Lander - is usually a web page where your traffic is redirected. Landers contain a call to actions or links to your offer(-s).
LP Clicks - number of visitors who clicked from landing page to offer.
LP CTR - is the ratio between LP views and LP clicks.
LP Views - number of visitors who got to the landing page after a click.
Macros (Tokens) - also known as tracking tokens - placeholders that can pass additional information about the traffic or conversions, such as keywords, browsers, GEO, device, etc. Each traffic source has its own set of macros. In RedTrack, the macros for selected traffic sources are already integrated into the Source catalogue.
Offer - Offer is a description of a product or a service that needs to be advertised as well as all the aspects of the advertising process (payments, sources, etc).
Offer URL - the final URL where the visitor will land after clicking the link on a landing page or banner.
Organic Traffic - the term is used for referring to the visitors that land on your website as a result of unpaid (“organic”) search results. Organic traffic is the opposite of paid traffic, which defines the visits generated by paid ads. Visitors who are considered organic find your website after using a search engine like Google, so they are not “referred” by any other website.
Payout - the amount received per conversion.
Pixel (tracking pixel) - Image Pixel is an alternative way of passing information about some successful action.
Postback - a method of passing conversions from an affiliate network to a tracker that allows analyzing which traffic channel or segment is performing better, which offers are more popular, and any other information that may help optimize the campaign.
Postback URL - a URL that sends the information about a certain conversion from one server to another.
Profit - net income of a campaign. Profit is a difference between the campaign’s Revenue and campaign’s Cost.
Revenue - the amount received for the payment of conversions within a campaign. Revenue can be found by multiplying campaign’s conversions and payout.
RevShare - revenue share - a set % of the commission fee paid upon conversion.
ROI - a return of investment - campaign’s profitability level. ROI can be calculated by the following pattern: Profit/Cost *100%. If the ROI > 0%, that means that a campaign is profitable.
Stream - the term is applied in RedTrack: a set of related LPs, Offers and filters
S2S tracking - (Server-to-server) based on sending post-backs from Affiliate Network to the tracking software and from tracking software to the Traffic Source when conversions occur. Affiliate Networks and Traffic Sources have to support this type of tracking on their back-end but it is far more accurate and secure.
Traffic Source - a company providing traffic for a campaign. Traffic sources can be represented by different entities: social networks and blogs, advertising networks or agencies, websites, etc.
Tracking link - (Campaign Click URL, Click Tracking Link, etc.) a unique URL to which a certain affiliate sends clicks for a particular offer. This is the advertised link following by the tracker link.
Traffic - web users who visit a website. Web traffic is measured in visits (clicks, views).